When Come On Come On was released in 1992, CDs were beginning to flood the music stores as the next best thing in the music world.  Vinyl records were still available but they were going the way of the dinosaur as we all wanted a more compact way to listen to music, hence the compact disk.  They were smaller, easier to transport and virtually indestructible – meaning they wouldn’t skip like a record.

Funny thing though, I played this CD so much that I eventually had to buy a second copy because several tracks ended up sk-sk-sk-skipping. So much for progress.

I was glad that the CD came in the long cover that it did.  As a lover and collector of recorded music, I embraced the new format but I still missed the nice big size of a 12 x 12 inch album cover in my hands.

I read earlier today that Adele made Billboard chart history with two titles each in the Hot 100 and Billboard 200 top five. The reason why I mention this is because her music sales are mostly based on digital downloads, unheard of in 1992. Adele’s feat made me wonder how much of an impact COCO would have had on the music world if it were released in 2012.

Starting tomorrow, I’ll be posting CD singles that were released from this album, the first which was I Feel Lucky.

Over & Out,

Lisa Luck

Leave a Reply

