It’s been nearly 3 weeks since my last post. I intended to blog the night of the ACM’s since Mary Chapin Carpenter has won 2 of them during her career and I wanted to remininsce about it. But I never got around to it. I intended to blog when she announced her upcoming release of “Ashes and Roses” that’s due out on June 12th and it happens to be her 12th studio album. And I never got around to that either. But as they say, 3 times the charm, so here goes.

The item that I put in this post is a press kit for Come On Come On which was released by the record company. This item probably cost me about $10.00 which was a lot of money in 1992. It contains an 8 x 10 photo with a matte finish and a 3-page biography.  It came in a red folder that is labeled Columbia Nashville.

A sweet childhood memory appears on page 1.

 Mary-Chapin had picked up a guitar which had been purchased and discarded by her mother during what Carpenter laughingly refers to as “the Great Folk Music Scare” of the early ’60s. ” I remember being in the second grade and playing ‘Celito Lindo’ in the school play,” she laughs.

Page 3 lists most of the songs that are on the CD, except 3 of them including the track I believe to be the least well known from this album, Walking Through Fire. Its lyrics though stand right up next to The Hard Way or any other song on the album.

Spite is like a spark, crackling in the dark, consuming all it catches, and you got me walking through fire

The song has the usual references to fire such as flames, burning and a spark as quoted above but in MCC’s craftful way, she commands the words of the song to create vivid imagery for the listener instead of a cliché.

Over & Out,

Lisa Luck

Leave a Reply

