Two weeks from today Mary Chapin Carpenter kicks off an 8-day tour with her pal, Shawn Colvin in Norwalk, Connecticut. So I thought it appropriate to start diggin’ out the concert t-shirts in my collection.

No Mary Chapin Carpenter memorabilia collection is complete without a few concert t-shirts here and there. I’ve collected 30 shirts or so, a few hats, a coupla key chains and several posters over the years. The shirt pictured above is not the first one that I acquired but starts off with the theme of this blog as it’s from her tour in support of Come On Come On. Oh, and not all the items were purchased at her concerts. Many were from eBay and I always enjoy perusing eBay to discover shirts that I’ve never seen before.

Previously Shawn and Mary Chapin have played together numerous times through the years though with Shawn as the opening act and MCC with her full band. I saw them perform in Philadephia at the Mann Center, I believe in 1999. And in 2003, both were joined by Patty Griffin and Dar Williams in the fashion of a guitar-pull where they each took turns singing one of their songs while the others sang harmony. I believe I saw them twice on that tour.

The upcoming tour is just the two of them with their guitars and I can’t wait to experience  the magic of their singing together songs like, One Cool Remove, That’s The Way Love Goes and perhaps a current pop song or two since in 2003 they did sing the Backstreet Boys’ I Want It That Way. It wouldn’t matter to me if they sang the phone book, the two of them on the stage together is guaranteed to be unforgettable.

Oh, on the back of the shirt is a line from the title track,

You just have to whisper

Hey, maybe they’ll sing that one too. I can only hope.

Over & Out,

Lisa Luck

Leave a Reply

